A 43rd edition of the Festival 100% digital

1978
Year of creation
2020
1st digital edition
60
selected films

The oldest short film festival in France, the Festival du Film Court en Plein Air brings together thousands of film lovers every year to discover an ambitious selection of short films from all over the world. In 2020, the health context forces the organizers to innovate and offer an online version of the event. To create their event video-on-demand platform, they chose the Otto by VOD Factory tool.

"The ease of animation of the site via Otto has allowed us to bring the festival to life on a daily basis, offering users new content to discover each time they visit. We were able to maintain a festival rhythm and atmosphere. »
Peggy Zejgman-Lecarme, Director of the Grenoble Cinematheque and the Grenoble Open Air Short Film Festival

A Festival reinvented

Faced with the restrictions imposed by the health crisis, the Cinémathèque de Grenoble - founder and organizer of the Festival - has decided for its 2020 edition to move towards an online rendezvous, using to create a digital platform accessible to all. Within a few weeks, the teams of the Cinémathèque de Grenoble and VOD Factory have set up a SVOD service giving access to the different programming of the Festival. The opportunity for the Festival to experiment another form of sharing cinema, and to reach a younger and connected audience.

360° programming

The organising teams were keen to make the most of the possibilities of digital by also offering Facebook Live, videoconferences or Instagram Stories. An appointment was made for the online publication of each evening's programming - a selection which then remained accessible on the site for 48 hours.

Support for the sector and enthusiasm on the part of filmmakers

The entire selection of the 2020 Festival could be shown online. Proof that, despite the unprecedented context of Covid-19, directors were not afraid of this new digital format! The Festival organisation was able to support and encourage their creativity by awarding 9 prizes, including the Audience Award.

The online edition of the Festival is over, but check out the highlights on the Facebook page.

Discover the Otto solution
Illustration of a woman sending a paper airplane
Would you like to join our team? Consult our job offers
Copy that! We'll get back to you very soon.
A mistake has been made. Shall we try again?
Icon letter

Une 43e édition du Festival 100% digitale

1978
Année de création
2020
1ère édition digitale
60
films sélectionnés

Plus ancien festival de court-métrage en France, le Festival du Film Court en Plein Air rassemble chaque année des milliers de cinéphiles pour découvrir une sélection ambitieuse de court métrages venus du monde entier. En 2020, le contexte sanitaire oblige les organisateurs à innover et à proposer une version en ligne de l’événement. Pour créer leur plateforme de vidéo à la demande événementielle, ils ont choisi l’outil Otto by VOD Factory.

« La facilité d’animation du site via Otto nous a permis de faire vivre le festival au quotidien, en proposant aux utilisateurs des nouveaux contenus à découvrir à chacune de leur visite. On a pu maintenir un rythme et une atmosphère de Festival. »
Peggy Zejgman-Lecarme, Directrice de la Cinémathèque de Grenoble et du Festival du Film court en plein air de Grenoble

Un Festival réinventé

Face aux restrictions imposées par la crise sanitaire, la Cinémathèque de Grenoble – fondatrice et organisatrice du Festival – a décidé pour son édition 2020 de s’orienter vers un rendez-vous en ligne, en utilisant pour créer une plateforme digitale accessible à tous. En quelques semaines, les équipes de la Cinémathèque de Grenoble et de VOD Factory ont mis sur pied un service de SVOD donnant accès aux différentes programmations du Festival. L’occasion pour le Festival d’expérimenter une autre forme de partage du Cinéma, et de toucher un public plus jeune et connecté.

Une programmation 360°

Les équipes organisatrices ont eu à cœur de tirer meilleur parti des possibilités du digital en proposant également des Facebook Live, visioconférences ou Stories Instagram. Un rendez-vous était donné pour la mise en ligne des programmations de chaque soirée – sélection qui restait ensuite accessible sur le site pendant 48 heures.

Un soutien au secteur et un engouement de la part des réalisateurs

L’intégralité de la sélection du Festival 2020 a pu être montrée en ligne. Une preuve que, malgré le contexte inédit du Covid-19, les réalisateurs et réalisatrices n’ont pas eu peur de ce nouveau format digital ! L’organisation du Festival a, quant à elle, pu soutenir et encourager leur créativité, en attribuant 9 prix, dont le Prix du Public.

L’édition du Festival en ligne est terminée, mais retrouvez les temps forts sur la page Facebook.

Découvrir la solution Otto
Illustration d'une femme envoyant un avion en papier
Vous souhaitez rejoindre notre équipe ?Consulter nos offres d'emploi
Bien reçu ! Nous reviendrons vers vous très bientôt.
Une erreur est survenue. On réessaie ?
Icone lettre